Skip to content

Little Free Library Indiana Moving Forward

January 8, 2012

(This post written by Debbie Harbeson.)

The photo to the left is the current progress of a soon-to-be Little Library that will be in Southern Indiana, most likely in Floyd County. Thanks to my friend Jim James, it looks like I’m going to be able to build a little library in memory of my dad, Paul Huber.

I have known Jim for about a couple of years now I guess. We initially connected through my newspaper column and have since become friends. Through our friendship, I found out he enjoys doing woodworking projects, spending most of his time making jewelry boxes.

Knowing this, I decided to see if he might be interested in helping me build a little library in memory of my dad. He already knew about the Little Free Library project and said he was interested. I told him that I wanted to be a full participant. I didn’t want him to do all the work; I wanted him to help me build it.

Jim said he had already tried to print the plans they have at the Little Free Library site but couldn’t get it to come out right. So I was able to fix it up for him and sent him a pdf of the plans.

Next thing I know, he calls me up and asks me over to his workshop to see what he’s done on the project. (By the way, it must be said here that Jim has a man-cave so awesome even this woman can appreciate it.)

Anyway, I didn’t even know he was actively working on it yet and just look at what he’s done already! Isn’t that amazing?

We discussed some questions he was still pondering about the plan and what needed to be done next. And as he rolled off some of the things we needed to do, cutting more pieces of wood, gluing, nailing, etc., he said I could help him work on it from here.

I said, “Do you think I can do all that stuff you just rattled off?!”

And he replied, “Sure.”

Silly man, he knows not what he’s getting into.
***********
Don’t forget about the next meeting of the Little Free Library Indiana at 6:00 p.m. on Monday, January 16th at the Jeffersonville Public Library.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

