Skip to content

Little Library with a Magnetic Personality

February 2, 2012

(This post written by Debbie Harbeson.)

Here’s another progress update on the Little Free Library I’m building with Jim James, woodworker extraordinaire. Although I have been participating in a lot of the building, Jim has been putting in much more work than I have. He’s been working hard to make sure everything is fitting together nicely and I think he’s even been lying awake at night trying to figure out how he wants to handle parts of the project. I don’t know how I’m going to thank him for all of his help but maybe I should start by giving him a pack of sleeping pills.

Anyway, in thinking about how the door will work, Jim suggested we use magnets to help keep the door closed. So we worked together to install two rare earth magnets in the front face of the library. Two screws inserted into the door frame will attach to the magnets, helping to ensure that the door closes fully.

We used a Forstner bit to create a hole the size of the magnet and then glued the magnet inside the hole. Here I am using the drill press:

Here’s a photo of the magnet installed:

Here’s a photo with the door attached, showing the magnets and the screws that will snap to the magnets:

We also decided to round off the edges of the library and here I am using a router:


Finally, we put together the library to see how everything is fitting together and here’s a picture of our progress so far. I think it’s coming together nicely. I just hope Jim agrees so he can sleep tonight.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jim James permalink
    February 2, 2012 3:15 pm

    Z-z-z-z-z.

Leave a Reply

